REORGANIZATION MEETING DECEMBER 2, 2014

The Board of Education of the Wilkes-Barre Area School District held a Reorganization Meeting on Monday, December 2, 2014. President Louis M. Elmy called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.M., and announced that the Board is meeting this day for the purpose of reorganization under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania, as amended.

Superintendent Dr. Bernard S. Prevuznak led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Board Secretary Leonard Przywara called the roll:

7 MEMBERS PRESENT: Caffrey, Elmy, Evans, Galella, Susek, Thomas, Walker

1 MEMBER PARTICIPATES VIA CONFERENCE CALL: Katsock

1 MEMBER ABSENT: Quinn

President Elmy opened nominations for a Temporary President.

Ms. Thomas moved, to nominate **Joseph A. Caffrey** as Temporary President. There were no further nominations.

Mr. Evans motioned, seconded by Ms. Thomas, to close nominations for Temporary President.

The vote was as follows:

8 Ayes: Caffrey, Elmy, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker

The vote for Temporary President was as follows:

JOSEPH A. CAFFREY: Caffrey, Elmy, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker

Temporary President Caffrey opened nominations for President for the ensuing year.

Ms. Thomas moved, to nominate Louis M. Elmy for President.

Rev. Walker moved, to nominate Christine Katsock for President.

There were no further nominations.

Mr. Evans motioned, seconded by Ms. Thomas that the nominations be closed. The vote was as

follows:

8 Ayes: Caffrey, Elmy, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker

The vote for President for the ensuing year was as follows:

LOUIS M. ELMY: Caffrey, Elmy, Evans, Galella, Susek, Thomas,

CHRISTINE KATSOCK: Katsock, Walker

LOUIS M. ELMY - President for the ensuing year.

REORGANIZATION MEETING DECEMBER 2, 2014

President Elmy took over the meeting and opened nominations for Vice President for the ensuing year.

Mr.. Evans moved, to nominate Joseph A. Caffrey for Vice-President.

There were no further nominations.

Dr. Susek motioned, seconded by Ms. Thomas that the nominations be closed. The vote was as follows:

8 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

The vote for Vice President was as follows:

JOSEPH A. CAFFREY: Caffrey, Elmy, Evans, Galella, Susek, Thomas, Walker

No: Katsock

JOSEPH A. CAFFREY- Vice President for the ensuing year.

Ms. Thomas moved, seconded by Dr. Susek, that all meetings be conducted in accordance with the rules set forth in the Reorganization Meeting of December 2, 1981, as amended December 2, 1999 and March 10, 2010 including Order of Business. The vote was as follows:

8 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

Rev. Walker nominated, Christine Katsock to be the PSBA Legislative Chairperson who will serve as the District's contact for PSBA's governmental relations efforts as well as to participate in county-level Legislative Action meetings with members of the General Assembly.

Mr. Evans nominated, Denise Thomas to be the PSBA Legislative Chairperson who will serve as the District's contact for PSBA's governmental relations efforts as well as to participate in county-level Legislative Action meetings with members of the General Assembly.

Ms. Thomas moved, seconded by Dr. Susek, to close the nominations. The vote was as follows: 8 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

The vote for PSBA Legislative Chairperson was as follows:

DENISE THOMAS - Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

Dr. Susek nominated Ned Evans to be PSBA Representative to the Region 7 Cabinet, which interfaces with the role of the Luzerne County Legislative Coordinator. The vote was as follows: **NED EVANS** - Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

REORGANIZATION MEETING **DECEMBER 2, 2014**

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, JOHN R. QUINN has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member

of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December, 2014; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School

Directors appoints ______ to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the

Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to

expire in December, 2017.

Wilkes-Barre, PA

December 2, 2014

Ms. Thomas nominated Rev. Walker, to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the

Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to

expire in December, 2017.

Mr. Elmy nominated John Quinn, to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint

Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in

December, 2017.

The vote was as follows:

JOHN QUINN: Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Elmy

REV. WALKER: Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker

The vote ended in a tie vote. Resolution will be entertained at a future Board Meeting.

3

REORGANIZATION MEETING DECEMBER 2, 2014

RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED, that **Patricia Wallace** be appointed Assistant Secretary of the Board of Education to serve until the Reorganization Meeting of December, 2015, under the provisions of Section 434 of the Public School Code of 1949, as amended.

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Assistant Secretary be bonded, and premium for such bond to be paid by the School District.

Wilkes-Barre, PA December 2, 2014

Ms. Thomas moved, seconded by Mr. Caffrey, to adopt Resolution No. 2.

The vote was as follows:

8 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

Rev. Walker moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas, that the Regular Meetings be held on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 P.M., in the Administration Building, and that the Committee Meetings be held on the second Monday of each month at 5:30 P.M., in the Administration Building. The vote was as follows:

8 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

Dr. Susek moved, seconded by Rev. Walker, that the officers of the Board be authorized to draw orders for payrolls and for payment of bonds, interest, utilities and other pertinent bills as they come due. The vote was as follows:

8 Ayes: Caffrey, Evans, Galella, Katsock, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Elmy

Dr. Susek moved, to adjourn the Reorganization Meeting.

President Elmy adjourned the Reorganization Meeting at 6:24 PM.